I-League 2020-21: List of Award Winners as TRAU FC Win Maximum Accolades

I-League 2020-21: List of Award Winners as TRAU FC Win Maximum Accolades

The 2020-21 season of the I-League, which was held in a bubble in Kolkata, came to an end on Saturday with Gokulam Kerala FC emerging as the champions. Gokulam Kerala FC trounced contenders TRAU FC 4-1 on the final to win the title in a photo-finish. Churchill Brothers won their simultaneous match against RoundGlass Punjab FC but needed the other match to end in a draw. Gokulam Kerala FC is the first team from Kerala to win the I-League.

While Gokulam ended up with the trophy, TRAU FC were the winners in the individual awards list. TRAU won as many as four awards out of seven and their hero Bidyashagar Singh won two accolades.

Bidyashagar Singh scored in the final to take his tally of goals to 12 and beat Dennis Agyare Antwi and Luka Majcen to win the top scorer award. For his extremely important role in TRAU FC’s successful season, Bidyashagar also won the Hero of the League award.

All the awards were taken by teams who played on the final day. While TRAU, Gokulam and Churchill were in the running for the title and obviously had the upper hand against other teams, Punjab FC’s goalkeeper won them an individual award as well.


Golden Boot: Bidyashagar Singh (TRAU FC) – 12 goals

Best Goalkeeper: Kiran Limbu (Punjab FC)

Jarnail Singh Award for Best Defender: Hamza Kheir (Churchill Brothers)

Best Midfielder: Phalguni Singh (TRAU FC)

Best Emerging Player: Emil Benny (Gokulam Kerala FC)

Syed Abdul Rahim Award for Best Coach: Leimapokpam Nandakumar Singh (TRAU FC)

Hero of the League: Bidyashagar (TRAU FC)

The winners of the I-League will get a prize sum of INR 1 Crore, while the second, third and fourth-placed teams in the table will get a sum of Rs 60Lakhs, 40Lakhs, and 25lakhs respectively.

The prize money for Hero of the League awards is INR 5 lakhs while it’s INR 2.5 lakhs for the rest of the awards except ‘Best Coach’. There was no prize money mentioned for the best coach award.